Books this Summer 2023

Summer comes! A time to recalibrate my reading list. These are some books I plan to enjoy during this summer vacation, half of it to be exact. I will spend the other half of the vacation mostly enjoying nature, reading the awe-filled wonders of nature written by the Author. This list is not sorted by any preference.

  1. Chip War, Chris Miller, (2022). A historical overview of semiconductors and how geopolitically involved the science and innovation of this technology is.
  2. Quantum Physics of Semiconductor Materials and Devices, Debdeep Jena, (2022). Food for thoughts recently starving for some strengthening of fundamentals. This book approach semiconductors through quantum physics. An obscure understanding of the physics of semiconductors can be fatal, defusing possible innovation in my later career. I may not be able to finish this book, but I will keep pushing forward!
  3. Socrates’ Children Vol. 4, Peter Kreeft, (2023). Refurbishing my thoughts with enough dose of healthy critical thinking. Halfway done. I really wonder whether I can chart the whole 100 philosophers’ thoughts, even just the main ones, in a chart.
  4. Hymn of the Universe, Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, (1969). A profound vision of the material world, seen through the eyes of a Jesuit paleontologist. Time to up my game with the material reality.
  5. The Phenomenon of Man, Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, (1959). This is the second Teilhard’s book on the list. I need a stronger foundation to look at the theory of evolution to explain this world. A long desire, encouraged two times by a trusted priest friend of mine.

Additionally, some additional books and topics I need to review. I may come over this list, too.

  1. The Story of Art, Gombrich, (1950). Strongly encouraged by a dear friend majoring in Art History. I need to arrange the whole artistic history and thoughts into a solid view, anyway.
  2. A Little History of the World, Gombrich, (1936). This one is another Gombrich’s book on the list. Time to finish this book this summer.
  3. Organic Electronics, Stephen Forrest, (2020). Time to be honest with my own field by understanding the beauty of the fundamentals and advances in organic devices.
  4. For God and Profit: How Banking and Finance Can Serve the Common Good, Samuel Gregg, (2016). Not my usual cup of tea, but this seems to be a must-read, recalling my poor knowledge of finance and its moral theology.

Leave a comment